7 Yoga Asanas For Each Chakra In Your Body

With traditional practices like yoga and meditation taking over the world, many are coming across old-made new words that have been used for decades in India. One such word happens to be ‘Chakra’. If you’ve recently joined yoga classes or have even been watching videos on meditation, this word probably would come up a couple of times. While some people may know about it vaguely, others might be completely unaware of how this one word can bring alignment and peace into their lives. Yes, you read that right. Understanding your chakra can help you attain balance. Scroll down to learn more about how it can help you open up your mind, body, and soul.

What are Chakras?

The word Chakra is derived from the Sanskrit scriptures, which mean "disk" or "wheel." It refers to the spinning energy centres located in the body. They start from the root of your spine and travel all the way up to the crown of your head. Each is known to correspond to certain nerves and organs. It is stated that if any of these chakras are blocked, it may lead to an emotional and physical imbalance. While some say that there are 100 or more chakras in the body, there are seven main ones that run along the spine. In this article, we’re going to cover these main chakras and the asanas that can help open each one of them.

What Happens When Your Chakras Are Blocked?

In the Sanskrit scriptures, it is mentioned that when the energy flow is low of a certain chakra, it can manifest into an imbalance. This can transform into various emotional and physical symptoms like stiffness, pain in joints, fatigue etc. In Ayurveda, chakra plays a vital role in understanding the human system to bring about balance and peace. For example, if you have high heat levels in your body, it will show up in the form of indigestion, and if you add more heat to the body, you will feel agitated. Whereas, if you do the opposite, like take a cold shower or eat fruits, you will feel more in balance.

If any of the below-mentioned symptoms seem all too familiar to you, chances are your chakras are blocked.
- Something feels "off."
- You get sick often
- You start making silly mistakes.
- Everything seems to be falling apart.
- Anxiety, stress, and depression
- Feeling disconnected and alienated from others around you

What Are The 7 Main Chakras And How To Open Them With Yoga?

As stated earlier, chakra refers to the different energy centres located in the body. Ensuring they are opened can help bring about balance in your life. Keep on reading to find out the 7 important chakras you need to concentrate on and the simple asanas that will help keep the energy flowing.

1. Root Chakra

Also known as the Muladhara, it is located at the very base of your spine, and is associated with the first three bottom vertebrae. This chakra plays a vital role in providing a foundation for life by helping you feel grounded. Since this chakra is responsible for creating a sense of security and stability, it also helps you withstand challenges. Asana to Help Open Up This Chakra Since this chakra reflects your foundation, any balancing pose will work. Asanas like tree pose, mountain pose, and warrior pose help strengthen and build a better relationship with your body’s foundation. It also helps you build a better foundation so that you feel grounded no matter what obstacles come your way.

2. Sacral Chakra

Also known as Svadhisthana, it is located just below your belly button. Since it is associated with the reproductive area, the Sacral Chakra is in charge of your sexual and creative energy. It provides a link to not only your own emotions but the emotions of others as well. Asana To Help Open Up This Chakra Since it’s responsible for your sensuality, it's important to focus on opening up and strengthening your pelvic floor. Poses like bridge pose, pigeon pose, or lizard pose help open up the hips and let this energy flow effectively.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

Also known as Manipura, this chakra is located in your stomach area. When it comes to your confidence and self-esteem, focusing on this chakra will help you feel more in control by helping you find your inner power. Finding balance in this chakra means finding your strength, your vitality, your ego, your willpower, your stamina, and your inner power. Asana To Help Open Up This Chakra To open up this chakra, include core-strengthening poses such as boat and triangle poses. These are great for bringing out that inner fire that resides in your core and bringing about more balance in your life.

4. Heart Chakra

Also known as Anahata, this chakra is located in the centre of your chest, right next to your heart. Since it is located near the heart, it comes as no surprise that it is responsible for our ability to love one another and show compassion. Asana To Help Open Up This Chakra This chakra is responsible for helping us form deeper, more meaningful connections with others. An imbalance of this chakra makes us distant. Some even find it difficult to open up to others. To unblock this chakra, poses like Camel Pose or Wheel are best, as they open up the chest, shoulder, and arm areas to open our hearts to love.

5. Throat Chakra

Also known as Vishuddha, this chakra is located in your throat. As we use this area to speak, it corresponds with our ability to communicate verbally. Asana To Help Open Up This Chakra To unblock the energy in this area, try poses like Plough and Fish. These poses are specifically designed to open up the back and front sides of your neck. Restoring the flow of energy with these poses will help us communicate better.

6. Third Eye Chakra

Also known as Ajna, this chakra is located right between your eyes. It is one of the most talked about chakras in yoga as it is responsible for intuition and even linked to imagination. It is considered a vital chakra in the body as it rules your ability to manifest a new reality into your life by imagining different possibilities. Asana To help Open Up This Chakra To build good gut instincts, and imagine better possibilities in your life, it’s important to focus on poses that connect your upper body intimately with your lower body. Poses like the forward fold and the folded eagle are ideal for opening up your third eye and helping you reach your higher self.

7. Crown Chakra

Also known as Sahasrara. We started off with the base of the chakras and ended it with the final and main chakra, located at the top of your head. This chakra represents your spiritual connection not only to yourself but also to others and the universe. Asana To help Open Up This Chakra Since this chakra is your connection to your higher self, poses like Savasana or Corpse Pose are beneficial. Why these? Well, they help strengthen your crown chakra by connecting you with your eternal self—your soul—and reminding you where you came from and where you’ll go in the end. Now that you’re aware of the 7 vital chakras in the body, go ahead and practise them daily to bring about balance in your life

https://journals.lww.com/hnpjournal/Citation/2005/03000/Chakra_Talk__Exploring_Human_E nergy_Systems.12.aspx https://link.springer.com/referenceworkentry/10.1007/978-1-4614-6086-2_104 https://www.researchgate.net/publication/359774235_Is_there_scientific_evidence_for_chak ras

Your Bag

Sign up for TGM's weekly highlights, new launch updates, exclusive events and offers.